bri m asked in PetsOther - Pets · 1 decade ago

HEEELLLP,MY HERMIT CRABS SHES DEAD??

WELL,WHEN I CAME HOME FROM SCHOOL I NOTICED THE STRANGEST THING IVE EVER SEEN IN MY LIFE,COCO ONE OF MY HERMIT CRABS WAS DEAD,I SAW HER CLAWS DETATCHED FROM HER BODY AND I DONT KNOW HOW IT HAPPENED,SO PLZZ.

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Sorry. It was most likely one of the other crabs.

• 3 years ago

%. it up and verify its reflexes. If it would not pass then i might worry for the worst, using fact any animals' instincts while picked up by utilising ask your self could be to conflict. If it does no longer prepare this common trait then...i think of you get the element. additionally purely using fact i'm a biologist I kinda could say, a hermit crab is an arachnoid no longer a reptile. i'm hoping all is going nicely

• 1 decade ago

Well since we dont know the whole situation its hard. Are there boy and girl How long have you had them? How big of a cage? How many? With that being said, if the claws were detached, its probably a fight, which could be a few reasons.

Source(s): Vet assiant, and more
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

Can you answer these questions, and I can help you out with what may have happened

What type of stubstrate do you have?

How many crabs?

What do you feed them?

Do you have a humidity gauge?

What type of tank do you have?

Do you use tap water, dechlorinated water, or salt water?

Do you supply then with fresh and salt water?

I've got 12 hermit crabs, and know almost everything you need to know about their care. Please answer those questions and I can try to help you figure out what happened, and how to prevent this from happening to your other crabs.