Anonymous
Anonymous asked in SportsMartial Arts · 1 decade ago

What is the basic gist of Krav Maga?

What kind of martial art is Krav Maga and how does it differ from other martial arts?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Krav Maga is basically just a hybrid art with techniques from several traditional martial arts. I've been doing Krav Maga for a few months now and I'm happy with the things I've learned so far.

Krav Maga takes moves from Boxing, wrestling, Jujitsu, Muay Thai, Tae Kwon Do, Karate and several other martial arts. The idea behind it is that you want to go from defending to attacking as soon as possible, and use anything and everything (groin shots, eye gouges, strikes to the neck and back of the head, weapons that you might be able to find) to defend yourself and incapacitate an attacker. I like the training methods because they put you under a little bit of stress and try to keep things as realistic as possible (while keeping safety in mind of course).

I also like the simplicity of the methods and the no nonsense approach to self defense. There isn't a lot of formality and you don't spend time learning forms or katas or anything like that, you learn self defense from day one.