becoming an exchange student....?

Hey, ive been looking into being an exchange student, i am 16 years old and am from the US, and would like to be an exchange student for either a year or half-year in a german speaking country(Germany or Switzerland preferably) or Norway

and i am in my Junior year and would like to do it my senior year, this has been a dream of mine for a while, and im taking advanced german this year, but the only thing really stopping my is that most of the programs i see cost alot of money, which is pretty much the only thing stopping me is the money issue

#1, actually paying the program that takes me there, and #2 how the hell do i get a source of income once im over there?? because most exchange students i know are pretty loaded, like a kid from germany in my french class has parents that are LOADED, but thats not me, hahaha, well yeah, any help would be appreciated, thanks!!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You should apply for the Congress Bundestag Youth Exchange scholarship to Germany. http://www.usagermanyscholarship.org/. They haven't updated the deadline on the website, but I would check directly with whatever organization works with your region (check the map) and make sure. It should be in December.

It is a full year program available to US students (up to age 18/freshly out of high school), and the the application deadline for your senior year is actually this fall -- so you're asking at the exact right time! It pays for all the big things -- flights, a language camp and transportation to your host family from the airport (by train). You have to pay for all your other expenses like toiletries, clothes, etc. but your host family feeds you, etc. (and you can control your expenses by limiting your extra spending)