Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Was the FIA right to penalise McLaren driver Lewis Hamilton in the 2008 Belgium GP?

what were the reasons and be specific. thanks

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Lauda slams F1 stewards decision as 'worst ever'

    AFP - September 8, 2008, 11:07 pm

    AFP ©

    SPA-FRANCORCHAMPS, Belgium (AFP) - Former Ferrari star and three-times drivers world champion Niki Lauda on Monday described the stewards' decision to strip Lewis Hamilton of his Belgian Grand Prix win as 'the worst in history'.

    The respected paddock figure and television expert slammed the sport's ruling body, the International Motoring Federation (FIA), and described the decision as "a perverted judgement."

    Briton Hamilton won Sunday's Belgian race in exhilarating style after a thrilling wheel-to-wheel battle with defending drivers world champion Finn Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari.

    But he was retrospectively relegated to third in the adjusted result for allegedly gaining an advantage by cutting out the Bus Stop chicane during his duel with Raikkonen in teeming rain in the closing laps.

    A stewards decision after the race gave him a 25-seconds penalty for the incident, the equivalent of a drive-through penalty in the race.

    It handed victory to Brazilian Felipe Massa of Ferrari who had struggled home second after his team-mate Raikkonen had spun off and crashed with one lap remaining.

    The decision stunned the paddock and provoked hostile criticism of the sport's ruling body and their stewards, many suggesting that it had brought Formula One into disrepute and destroyed faith in the sport.

    Austrian Lauda said: "This is the worst judgment in the history of F1. The most perverted judgment I have ever seen. It's absolutely unacceptable when three functionaries (the stewards) influence the championship like this."

    The decision was the fifth time this year that Hamilton had been penalised at a Grand Prix and came a year after his McLaren team were hit with a 100 million dollars fine for allegedly spying on Ferrari.

    The team said they had lodged notice to appeal against the decision, but had no further comment to make save that they intended to focus entirely on winning the next race, the Italian Grand Prix, at Monza on Sunday.

    Team chief Ron Dennis said: "That was a sensational Grand Prix, which kept everyone on the edge of their seats, whoever they were supporting. On the second lap, Lewis made a rare mistake, dropping him to second place behind Kimi Raikkonen, who he put under considerable pressure thereafter.

    "But our car is slightly superior to that of our opposition in slippery conditions, so when the rain came we were reasonably confident that Lewis would be able to press home his advantage.

    "He duly took the lead, finished first on the track, but then received a 25-seconds time penalty. After the race, we registered our intention to appeal it."

    He added: "We are now focussed on going to the next race in Italy to win."

  • 1 decade ago

    Lewis braked super late going into the Bus Stop chicane allowing him to get close to, and overtake Kimi. But he couldn't avoid cutting the chicane due to the extra speed he was carrying into the corner.

    Lewis did give back the position to Kimi, but in doing so, he merely moved into Kimi's slipstream, which then gave him the tow into the first corner where he managed to zap Kimi. Therefore, Lewis had an unfair advantage.

    This is probably what the stewards were thinking when they made the decision.

    It's bulls h i t.

    Lewis cut the chicane because Kimi didn't give him enough room - in fact, Kimi pushed him off the track. Lewis didn't get a tow into the first corner - he just outbraked Kimi who was busy doing a little jiggle with his twitchy Ferrari.

    Was FIA right to penalise? They'll say it's none of their business, as the race-related decisions are under the jurisdiction of the stewards at the race track.

  • 1 decade ago

    Hamilton did the wrong thing when he repassed Kimi immediately after letting him go. He was on the outside going into the Bus Stop and run out of road as Kimi took the racing line. He cut the chicane and gained an advantage, he then rightfully slowed to let Raikkonen through but then immediately passed him back. If he had followed the track, he wouldn't have been able to do this. However, this was made irrelevant when Raikkonen was forced off the track at Blanchimont and crashed.

    To conclude - I believe Hamilton did not follow the rules correctly but should have been allowed to keep his win as it didn't affect the race result - exactly like Massa's pit lane incident at Valencia.

  • ?
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    No. After the race it transpired that car number 1 (Kimi) and car number 22 (Lewis) were under investigation. Kimi for passing under yellow flags and Lewis for cutting the chicane. Kimi's investigation was dropped (why and how ????) and then Lewis gets his win taken away from him. He was RACING with Kimi, they touched, Lewis had not much choice but to go over the chicane, he then rightfully gave Kimi the lead back, moved round the back of him and the gained the lead again. It was RACING in an F1 RACE and for the win to be taken away from Lewis and Massa handed it afterwards is the most ridiculous thing ever.

    Wasn't the reason for Massa not getting a drive through in Valencia because it didn't effect the outcome of the race?? Well arguments about whether Lewis cut the chicane and gained the lead aside, Lewis cutting the chicane did not effect the outcome of the race either because Kimi crashed. It's so inconsistant and I really think the stewards need to be investigated cos they are not doing the fair and just job that they are supposed to be doing.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    No, i never heard a commentator say anything about it and on another show the guy said something like Lewis came out either at the same before or further behind Kimi

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    No. If they wanted to pelanize him, they should have deducted points or given Lewis a grid penalty for the next race. They should not be allowed to take a win away from a driver for going all out against an opponent.

  • 1 decade ago

    YES, the specifics are he cheated,end of story,have a nice day!

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.