During DISK CLEANUP, is it safe to check the box that says: Compress Old Files?

I just recently had my computer serviced & they replaced the hard drive, installed the drivers & then had to manually install Windows Service Pack 3 (KB936929). Now when I click on Local Disk (C:) Properties, the amount of disk space used went from 5000 to 9000, so I clicked on disk clean up & the is a box next to Compress old files 198,963K:

http://s118.photobucket.com/albums/o81/roniceb/?ac...

Is it safe to delete those files?

Update:

Oh, I forgot... what about the WebClient/Publisher Temporary Files?

9 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    It is safe to compress them. However, any time you try to access those compressed files, you'll see a bit of a slowdown as the file is read or written to (because the operating system has to compress or decompress the file it is working with).

    It isn't actually deleting any files when you do that, though -- just packing them so they take up less space on the disk (sort of the way a ZIP file works, but transparently so you don't notice it).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Yes it is safe. By checking the box beside Compress old Files, you are not actually deleting any files. Rather, the computer just "archives" them in a sense. It rearranges your old files so that your PC will save more storage space.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • ?
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

    Yes it is safe to compress those files and also it is probably safe to delete them too as they are files that sit dormant in your computer after only being use once like temporary internet files and the like.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    Space is space, but when the old files are still used then this is a bad idea. But when I look at the screenshot then it's good to do, because it saves disk space (every bit is good).

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Really depends. If you still are going to use old files, then probably not. Otherwise i'd go with compress old files.

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • ~o0o~
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago

    just check "Compress Old Files" for security reasons. you might use it in the future.

    WebClient/Publisher Temporary Files = untick it

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Yes, all it compresses is uneccesary files...

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    yes

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

    yup yup...as long as you dont need those files already..

    make sure you dont need them before doing so..

    • Commenter avatarLogin to reply the answers
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.