Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Pregnancy & ParentingAdolescent · 1 decade ago

Should I wait until I'm in college to get a car?

I have two options right now. I will be getting my permit in November, and I will hopefully have my license in March. My mom thinks I shouldn't get a car because in two years, I will be going to college. I can't have a car on campus until I'm a sophomore where I want to go. If I got a car, I would be the one making the monthly payments on it, and I would have to pay for insurance and gas. I would use it to go to school, go to my job, do things with my friends, etc.

My other option would be to use my mom's car. I would just have to put gas in it sometimes, and I would have to pay for my insurance. I would save my money from my job and get a car when I'm allowed one in college. If I wanted to take it to school, though, I would have to go drop my mom off at work at 6:45, and then take it to school for 7. Then, I would have to leave school and go pick her up from work at 3:15. If I wanted it in the summer, I would have to get up, get ready, take her to work, and then be up all day. She is very lenient, but she just needs a way to and from work if I use the car that day.

What option sounds better?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Save as much money as you can between now and March. Ask for cash for Christmas and your birthday. Then put it toward an inexpensive car that you won't have to make monthly payments on. Carry only liability insurance on it - no collision.