Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Beauty & StyleSkin & BodyOther - Skin & Body · 1 decade ago

how long does it take for a tongue piercing to close up?

i am starting a new trade school and i can not were my tongue ring how long until it will close what can i do?

Update:

i was told i could get a spacer to put in the whole how much are those and were can i get them from?

24 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

How long your piercing takes to close varies. Some people's piercing begin to close almost immediately. Others will stay open for years at a time.

As a body piercing apprentice I have seen people come into our shop after having a tongue ring fall out while they were asleep and need to have the piercing tapered back open it had closed so quickly and tightly. On the other end of the spectrum we had a woman come in because she had taken her tongue piercing out 2 years before and she wanted it re-pierced. We discovered she still had her piercing, it was completely open and just needed a little stretching to fit jewelry back in.

The lesson is: No one knows what your tonge is going to do. The only way to know is to take it out and see.

So you have two options you can hang out at home one day, take your tongue ring out, and try putting it back in every few hours. If it slips back in after 2 hours being out, try 4. If that works, try 6, etc. You can even leave the piercing out overnight if you want to test it. Or if you're not a risk taker or just don't have all day to mess with your tongue ring, then you can buy a retainer.