promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted

I feel like being on a college sports team is preventing me from making new friends..what to do?

Im a college freshman. Ive been at school for a little over 2 weeks because of preseason. All the other freshman moved in on saturday. I really want to make new friends with them, but im really shy and quiet. i thought being on a varsity sport would help me make friends but i feel like its actually preventing me. We have practice so i cant hang out and then im always tired during the day. The whole team hangs out a lot too, so i feel like i cant go out and make new friends. I also feel weird just walking into other dorm rooms to make friends. I just feel like i wont have any good friends. I like the girls on the team they are nice but i just dont feel like i connect with them that much. I just hate the feeling that i wont have any real close friends to talk to or anything. My roommate is on the same team as i am, shes nice but im not crazy about her personality and she is becoming friends with other girls on the team and i am just sorta there and quiet and stuff. I just dont know what to do..any suggestions?

Update:

also the school only has about 3500 kids, so i feel like it might be just like high school again. And i had a bunch of friends in high school, but it was just because i had known them all my life.

1 Answer

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer