Atheists, do you accept only common truth...?

Meaning, truth that is commonly agreed upon by science?

As a Christian, one of the biggest rebuttal I hear from Atheists is that if science cant prove it, its not real

So,what if you experience something that contradicts current science? (which happens all the time)...would you accept that as real, or would you have to submit it to the science community and wait to see if your own experiences are validated?

Update:

Ben and Big... sure

Any new discovery is a new truth to science. Im a neuroscience med student and we get new books almost every year that would contradict the previous year in many ways, i could expand but this should make sense

Also BIGg "if it cant be disproven it exists" is most assuredly NOT a science mentality. Its how I stated it, its not true unless its proven, or else they would have to disprove the existence of God, which hasnt happened(unless you know something i dont)

Update 2:

superjoe- thanks, I can respect that

Update 3:

Evil(deborah)- how about emotion and memory...both are really tough to prove anything about, we can study its effects but have no idea its source. Much like faith

Update 4:

Missouri nurse-sorry about all that, but feel free to answer my question too

Update 5:

Herudotu- actually empirical experience is the base of science. Reason is the base of philosophy and math. i agree its good, but i was wondering what you believed

Update 6:

USA- i like that quote! one problem i see with that though, is that science is like a limit in calculus, you get close but you never reach it... faith can get you the absolute even in non religious endeavors. so i ask if atheist recognize this or not?

Update 7:

Michael- what? im a med student, of course i believe in science... so do you not have an answer though? dont be cynical without basis bud

Update 8: