How to make ex-partner buy me out or sell jointly owned home after seperation?

My partner and i recently separated due to domestic violence. We jointly own a home and i voluntarily left the home due to saftey reasons. We are ex spouses and was not married when this home was purchased. My question is, what avenue or who do i contact to either make him buy me out or sell the home. I am currently a full time student and cannot afford a lawyer. Is there a way to do this on my own? And who would i need to contact to get the ball rolling on this situation. I would just let him keep it but he has a bad habit of making bills and not paying them, so i want out before he ruins my name along with his own. Thank you for your help.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

This is the very reason I discourage single people from buying property together unless they have a written agreement before the purchase of any property.

You should find the Legal Aid Society listed in the phone book. You might also consider a para legal for advice as they are inexpensive. Most attorneys are free for the first consultation.

Even if he buy you out or take your name off the deed you would still be on the mortgage which what I think you want to accomplish.

You have to some how get him to refinance the house or pay it off. That is the only way you will have your name removed from the mortgage.

I hope this has been of some use to you, good luck.

'FIGHT ON"

• Rachy
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago

Not sure if I'm reading this right... but if you were never on deed or mortgage to the home, you will need a lawyer. You may have jointly owned during your marriage, but if your partner never added you as an owner you may not have much recourse.