I Can Never Get Hired

I’m a sophomore college student studying meteorology and I feel it’s useless for me to go to school because I apply for jobs on www.Craigslist.org and I never get a call. I apply for Clerical/Administrative jobs and they seem to never call or email me. The only jobs I have done are internships and it feels like I’m just no good. I did an internship with PG&E (Pacific Gas and Electric Company) last year, which is a Northern California public utility company that delivers gas and electricity. Maybe I should quit school because I feel that I’m not gonna go nowhere with my degree. May be I’m much stupider than thought, maybe I’m ugly or may be it’s my nationality that I look like I’m from planet Mars. I guess I will just stay unemployed. I’m not a mean person, what is it that employers don’t wanna hire. Maybe I should move to India since I look mostly Indian. America doesn’t want me in their labor force.

I need some serious advice what can I do. Should I give up? Where can I find jobs in San Francisco, CA besides craigslist? Then if I get a call for an interview I never get the job. What is wrong with me? I guess I’m a very dumb person.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

You are not a "very dumb person" as you said, you simply have not gained formal job hunting skills. Unfortunately, this is rarely something directly taught in school. Most people have to figure it out the hard way. Here's what I've learned:

First off, ask around at your college and see if they have a career developement center or a similar department that helps students find jobs and hone their job hunting skills. They may give you a mock job interview, proofread your resume, and give you advice and tips on other job hunting strategies. Get yourself in top job hunting form as soon as possible.