clean up excess computer files/full system scan question.....

I have a question, I'm not that experienced with computers...

I have a basic compaq presario laptop, 1 1/2 years old.

Haven't given it any real "upgrades", haven't installed hardly anything. Pretty much only use it to go online.

My internet has been snail slow for 2 days, and we have comcast so it's usually fast. Decided to do a full system scan with windows defender. It has been scanning for 2 hours, and the counter for items scanned so far is almost 500,000 and counting.......

does this mean I have a whole lot of stuff stuck in my computer from various web sites or something?

Just went into control panel and deleted all temporary internet filed, cookies, etc.... what else can I do to clean up my computer without deleting anything important?

Update:

...now it is over 503,000 and still going. Where in the world did all these files come from?

Should I do a hard restart on my computer? (I don't know how to though)

8 Answers

Relevance
  • C-bug
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

You can and should maintain your own PC. After this scan is done, try these steps to gain back your speed.

1 - DAILY: First, clean up (delete) your cookies, temp files and temporary internet files. I prefer to use Ccleaner (available at www.filehippo.com) to do this, rather than the built-in DISK CLEANUP, as I feel it does a much more thorough job - for example, it will clean out the index files on your next reboot.

If you want to use Disk Cleanup, you can find it if you:

- Double-Click on My Computer to open it up

- RIGHT-click on your C: drive

- Choose PROPERTIES and then click on the DISK CLEANUP button

Delete these files every day or run Ccleaner every day right before you shut your computer down.