Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Are there emotionally abusive themes in the Twilight series?

I am a therapist that works with adolescents and it seems that all of my female clients are reading the Twilight series. The more I hear about these books, the more concerned I am with the material that my young clients are processesing. As I am thousands of pages in the hole, I was wondering if anyone could point me toward an unbiased synopsis of the series so that I can get my bearings. I also have a few specific questions: is there any actual description of sexual intercourse in the books? Are there situations of rape or forced sexual relations? Can someone point me toward some specific passages that seem like emotional abuse? I would be very grateful to anyone who could help me.

17 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I think those books have such a horrible message for younger women, especially about relationships.

Edward is an abusive boyfriend.