Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Education & ReferenceHigher Education (University +) · 1 decade ago

If I have a bachelor's degree in political science can i pursue a masters in city/urban regional planning?

I'm a high school senior and I need some guidance. I wanna pursue a degree a masters degree in city/urban regional planning. But can i get a bachelor's degree in political science and then get a masters at planning. What about a bachelor's in Architecture can i also pursue a masters in regional planning

1 Answer

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Planning, for the most part, is an interesting field because the major is primarily a masters degree field. There are a handful of universities that offer planning as a bachelor's degree, but at most places the degree is started at the master's level (maybe ten percent of the schools that offer a MURP have bachelor's programs, probably 15 programs in the country). I took a drafting class my junior year of high school, where second semester we did architectural drawing, yet when I doodled I drew a row of houses rather than floor plans - if I knew what Urban Planning was I would have majored in it. If I knew then what I know now, I would have been an undergrad major in Planning at Illinois, and then gone on to a joint JD/MURP. Instead I was a PreLaw/PoliSci major at Illinois, and got my JD. My specialty as an attorney is municipal law, planning, zoning, and subdivisions, and I have spent many years serving on Planning Commissions - I even worked as a Planner for a municipality.