I didn't even get an interview. What happened?

So here's my story:

I work in the business end of healthcare for a large practice. I have been in my job for 7 years and in that time, I graduated from college with a BA (in History). This has been a great job to get me through college, but now I am married and we want to start a family. My wage is less than $30k a year. I applied for a job doing the same thing I do now (but way more money) at a local hospital. My mom is in management there in a different dept, but she hooked me up with the appropriate contacts. I completed the hospital's app, sent in a great resume, went down there for a follow up (per their instructions), I called last week (no one called me back) and they called my present supervisor who gave me a stellar reference. I heard today that they filled the position. I didn't even get an interview and was more than qualified for the job.

Other job-seekers, what happened??

6 Answers

Relevance
  • Simba
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

That's tough. Did you hear directly from the company that the position was filled? Or did you hear it "through the grapevine"? Maybe you were given incorrect information about the position being filled. I personally have never heard of references being checked unless you are at least being considered. Then if the reference was good, being "overlooked" for an interview.

I would follow up with the hiring manager and ask their point of view. Good Luck!

• 1 decade ago

it's all bout who you know so whoever got the job probably knew someone higher or the place knew your mom hooked you up with the app and didn't want you working there too somwthing happend between the call to you former employer and whenever who know's I'm sure you were qualified move on to bigger and better and stop trying to figure out why you'll go nuts good luck!

• 1 decade ago