Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetComputer Networking · 1 decade ago

systems analyst.. 2 yr degree or masters needed??

im thinking of a complete career change, i orginally got my associates in science in radiography (im an xray tech) and then immediately went on to a university to get my bachelors of science in health sciences... but my goal is to do something with computers, pref more along the lines of systems analyst, networking, setting up new networks/computers for companies, managing information systems, etc... i have no formal education in computers, but can say that i know id be good at and enjoy the job. i was originally looking to go get my masters degree in information systems or technology somewhere, but they dont offer it anywhere near where i live which means id have to move and pay out of state tuition and grad programs are very expensive. my other option that i just started to consider is this: there is a community college in my state that offers a computer technology degree, not EXACTLY an managing info systems degree, but offers courses on basic networking, programing, microsoft....

Update:

operating systems, java, linux.... so is it worth it for me to go get a masters in info systems, or would i be alright just taking this basic courses at a community college and doing an internship/getting a job. i already have a bachelors degree... so could i just take the comm college courses (which would be alot cheaper, although prob not as good of courses as at a grad school) or do i need to move and pay all the money to get my masters.... what would be my best bet???

my aunt has a job at resorts data processing, she sets up new software/networks/etc for hotels/resorts and gets to travel to all kinds of cool places/work from laptop/home. so should i get a 2 year computer tech degree or the masters in info systems?

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer