Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureLanguages · 1 decade ago

Have you ever been an exchange student, or hosted one? (2)?

And if yes, do you have any advice for me? lol.

I'm hosting a Chinese girl (age 13-17, my age) for three weeks as part of an English immersion program. She's coming next week with a large group of about 20 Chinese kids.

I'm only hosting ONE girl, the rest of the group is going to different families in my town

What about cultural stuff? Will they be able to appreciate stuff like movies, music, books, or will they not like the fact that English is being spoken so quickly, or that words are being used that they don't understand?

And will they be overwhelmed by their host having friends over? I won't invite friends over until the girl is settled. But imagine if you were an exchange student - would you feel left out or overwhelmed in that situation?

7 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I was an exchange student in Poland, and I also spent a semester in Taiwan (and a few weeks in Beijing). Also, some Polish cousins of mine stayed with my relatives here for a month when they were in high school.

You might be surprised by how much she knows about American movies and music already. I've found that most people who like to travel also like foreign music, whether they understand the words or not. On the other hand, movies will probably be harder for her to enjoy (unless she's fluent). 90 minutes is a long time to sit and constantly interpret a foreign language while still keeping up with the plot and remembering to relax and have fun.

When you talk to her, try to pronounce words clearly. Speaking at your normal speed is fine, just don't mumble.