twice.
Lv 4
twice. asked in Society & CultureLanguages · 1 decade ago

Indonesian?

So I studied Indonesian in high school, where I scored straight A's. I dropped it in my last year of school (five years ago) and recently picked it back up again.

I bought the Rosetta Stone program, a grammar book and a dictionary. I plan on visiting Indonesia next year for about 6-7 months, where I will be attending a language learning school there.

What would be the best course of action to prepare for it? Daily study, broken up into sessions of Rosetta Stone, grammar and phrases?

Will listening to radio help, even if I don't fully understand everything said?

The more I study, the more that clicks back in and I remember things I used to know in school. However when I listen to the radio or whatever, they seem to speak so fast that I don't think I'd ever be able to get to that level.

Thanks

4 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

ach, mensch. indonesian is not that difficult. people say that it is the easiest languange in the world ever.

my german husband stayed in bandung only for 7 months and he speaks good indonesian already. and guess what, i am now living here in germany for 1 year and can barely speak german rightly.

there is no tenses, articles, etc etc, so nothing special that u should learn in indonesian. so i suggest u to stop worrying abt it. =)

do daily study. these websites could be pretty helpful:

http://www.learningindonesian.com/

http://www.seasite.niu.edu/indonesian/percakapan/i...

and remember, once u be in indonesia later, the local people will help u too.

Source(s): native indonesian
  • Nic B
    Lv 4
    7 years ago

Well done for picking it back up again :)

Listening certainly helps, even if you don't understand it. Don't do it if it's just going to stress you out - they DO speak really fast on the news etc. I can't pick all of it up, and I'm fairly fluent.