Is lactic acid really that bad?

I am a swimmer and our coach always makes us cool down after a workout. He says that lactic acid stunts muscle growth. But then somedays after a really tough workout we don't even cool down. Is lactic acid really that bad and if it is, what can I do to get rid of it when we don't cool down after practice?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Several items need to clarified --

Lactic acid (LA) used to be seen as something that was a bad thing in the sense that after an intense workout you will have a buildup of LA in your muscles. By going thru a cool down cycle at the end of your workout, this will help slowly work the LA out of the muscles.

LA does not stunt the muscle growth.

LA will give a very temporary burning sensation when you are exercising but as soon as you stop, the burning will stop.

LA DOES NOT cause the break down of the muscle fibers. The workout itself will result in microtears of the muscle fibers and this will result in the muscle repairing itself and then adding more muscle to "protect" against future microtears. The goal of each workout is to place microtears in the muscle to cause this repair/ reinforcing of the muscle tissue and this is also why we must allow the body to fully recover.

LA is formed, in short, due to the body producing large amounts of ATP (adenosine triphosphate) - this provides this initial energy when a phosphate is released.. During intense excercise, ATP is being produced very rapidly and will give off free hydrogen atoms which lowers the pH in the body (acidosis). This process eventually leads to anaerobic metabolism in which there is the formation of lactic acid. There are two other key elements to this...

-- The more carbs that you use for energy, the more lactic acid you will produce as glucose and glycogen are major players.