Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentOther - Politics & Government · 1 decade ago

When did the United States achieve independence? When did Taiwan achieve independence?

One of my associates' relatives is doing a report on the achievement of "independence" by various territories and/or colonies.

She would like to contrast the dates of achieving independence by the (1) United States and (2) Taiwan ..... among other areas.

Although many people claim that the USA's original 13 colonies achieved independence on July 4, 1776, such a statement is clearly false. Great Britain certainly didn't recognize the validity of any such claim .......

Other people claim that Taiwan became independent upon the surrender of Japanese troops on the island, which was Oct. 25, 1945. However, the Allies and the international community certainly recognized no such claim, and there is no basis under international law for such a statement.

So .... any authoritative information on the USA and Taiwan would be appreciated.

3 Answers

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    The United States achieved independence when the Treaty of Paris came into force on Jan. 14, 1784.

    Taiwan is not independent. None of the Allies recognized Taiwan as either becoming independent or becoming part of the territory of China on the date of surrender of Japanese troops ...... or on any date thereafter.

    The Japanese announced their unconditional surrender on Aug. 15, 1945. However, the actual surrender ceremonies in Taiwan were held much later.

    On Sept. 2, 1945, General Douglas MacArthur issued General Order No. 1 directing Chiang Kai-shek of the Republic of China to go to Taiwan to accept the surrender of Japanese troops.

    The surrender ceremonies of Oct. 25, 1945, in Taipei marked the beginning of the military occupation of Taiwan. None of the Allies recognized that there was any "transfer of the sovereignty of Taiwan" to China on that date. Indeed, international law does not allow such an interpretation. Nor could Taiwan be considered "independent" beginning on that date.

    Looking at the relevant treaties, two are most important. The relevant articles are discussed below:

    * Article 2b of the San Francisco Peace Treaty of April 28, 1952, states: Japan renounces all right, title and claim to Formosa and the Pescadores.

    However, no "receiving country" was specified for this territorial cession.

    * Article 2 of the Sino-Japanese Peace Treaty of Aug. 5, 1952, states: It is recognised that under Article 2 of the Treaty of Peace which Japan signed at the city of San Francisco on 8 September 1951 (hereinafter referred to as the San Francisco Treaty), Japan has renounced all right, title, and claim to Taiwan (Formosa) and Penghu (the Pescadores) as well as the Spratley Islands and the Paracel Islands.

    Basically speaking, this Sino-Japanese Peace Treaty (aka Treaty of Taipei) of Aug. 5, 1952, merely recognizes the legal arrangements previously made in the SFPT.

    In summary, there are no treaty provisions which have ever (1) established (or recognized) Taiwan's independence, or (2) transferred the territorial sovereignty of Taiwan to China.

  • 1 decade ago

    The 13 colonies declared independence from the Kingdom of Great Britain on 4 July 1776. However, this wasn't recognised until the Treaty of Paris on 3 September 1783.

    Taiwan gained its independence from Japan on 15 August 1945 following the Surrender of Japan to the Allies. Taiwan then became part of the Republic of China, which it still is today. However, the People's Republic of China (founded by Mao Zedong in 1949) claims sovereignty over the island. So you could say Taiwan hasn't achieved independence from China.

  • Well the USA achieved independence legally from Great Britain on July 2, 1776. However we celebrate independence day on July 4th.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.