How long after bankruptcy will I be able to qualify for a home loan?

My husband and I are considering filing bankruptcy because of some past credit problems. I am in my last year of college, and I going directly into my master's which will take another two years. After that, I will start having to paying back my student loans. We hope to be able to qualify for a home loan... show more My husband and I are considering filing bankruptcy because of some past credit problems. I am in my last year of college, and I going directly into my master's which will take another two years. After that, I will start having to paying back my student loans. We hope to be able to qualify for a home loan after I am established with a job for a year or two. Would it be best to not file bankrupcy or will filing bankruptcy and paying on time look better to creditors on top of paying back student loans?