Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Question concerning closing cost. I just received my good faith estimate for a VA loan.?

Can someone explain to me what closing cost I SHOULD be paying as a VETERAN in GEORGIA and how MUCH I should be paying? Also, how do I go about negotiating the closing cost? Another note is that I am a disabled veteran rated over 30%. I know that some will try to take advantage of new home buyers and those not up to speed on all the terminology of the mortgage field. I would just like to make sure that I do not end up paying more than I should just cause I was not educated before hand.....Thanks!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Often, veterans believe that closing costs are covered by a VA mortgage. This not technically true...however, the same effect can be reached through careful structuring of your real estate contract. The loan amount will be the purchase price or appraised value, whichever is less (plus the VA Funding Fee). So if you want your closing costs covered by the loan, you need to increase the price and have a stipulation with the seller will pay the closings costs and pre-paid expenses equal to the amount by which you have increased the price. As long as the home appraises for the increased price, you will have the closing costs paid as part of the deal. Closing costs and pre-paid expenses can vary widely with 3% - 5% as the range for most places.

You will probably be paying for the following items: