Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 1 decade ago

I am New To Vegetarian World, But Serious Question?

When I would ask about certain foods, other vegs would get mad at other vegs for giving out crazy false veg info. It's like everybody has their own definition of what a vegetarian is. I gotten info on flexo-veg to lacto ovo veg to somebody saying there is no such thing as veggie breads, so someone saying there is. A new person can get really confused in hear.

Update:

The question is , are there really a whole bunch of definitions of being a vegetarian i.e. flexo-veg ovo-lacto, or is it either your a vegetarian or not.

Update 2:

lol@Ray, okay I will do that, its a little too much for me and I was having a hard time with the Honey thing anyway. I love Honey.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    I will tell you the truth. There are 2 different main categories of vegetarians. There are vegans who don't eat or wear animal products...and there are vegetarians. There are 3 different kinds of regular vegetarians. They can be any combination of lacto and ovo, depending on whether they choose to consume milk or eggs.

    So that means there are vegans and lacto and/or ovo vegetarians. That's it.

    ---------------------------------------------------

    Non vegetarians and other confusion

    There are people who call themselves pollo-vegetarians. They eat chicken, but vegetarians don't eat chicken so that is impossible...They could however call themselves pollotarians though. They would just have to leave the "veg" out.

    There are also people who only eat fish. They are called pescetarians. They sometimes call themselves pesce-vegetarians, but again vegetarians don't eat flesh. They are not true vegetarians.

    Then there are people who call themselves flexitarians or flex-vegetarians. They think it is okay to call yourself a vegetarian, but then eat a steak if it's the only handy thing to do. They are not vegetarians because you are not a vegetarian of you only do it when it's convenient. They are omnivores.

    I hope that helped.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    There are widely accepted beliefs for many vegetarian subjects while other subjects are based more on opinion. Some of the strongest beliefs are as follows...

    A vegetarian does not eat meat from animals which includes fish and bi-products such as gelatin. They can eat honey, eggs and dairy. If they eat egg but do not eat dairy they can be classified as ovo-vegetarian. If they eat dairy but not egg they are lacto-vegetarian.

    A pescetarian is not a vegetarian, nor is a flexitarian.

    A vegan does not eat meat or anything that comes from an animal such as eggs and dairy.

    Bread can generally be consumed by vegans and vegetarians as can pasta (as long as there are no animal contents) and it is incorrect to state otherwise.

    From an ethical standpoint there is no need for anyone in the modern world to eat meat.

    For more information, go to a reputable vegetarian website, there are heaps.

  • manda
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    First of all, ignore the term flexitarian. It means nothing.

    The word "vegetarian" is sometimes interpreted as a diet including no red meat but allowing fish and poultry. Technically, that is wrong, but you will probably run into it sometimes. True vegetarians don't eat meat or meat by-products including gelatin and rennet.

    Vegetarians can include eggs and/or dairy in their diets, and if they do they can be referred to as lacto-, ovo-, or lacto-ovo-vegetarians. Those prefixes are optional.

    Vegans are sometimes called strict vegetarians, and do not eat anything that is animal derived in any way, even honey. They also usually do not wear or purchase leather, wool, or silk.

  • 1 decade ago

    Flexi is not part of the mix, flexitarian means someone one a meat-reduced diet - its not vegetarian and should never be used as flexi-vegetarian or flexi-vegan - those corruptions would not make any sense at all.

    There really is only one definition of a vegetarian:

    A vegetarian is someone living on a diet of grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, vegetables and fruits, with or without the use of dairy products and eggs. A vegetarian does not eat any meat, poultry, game, fish, shellfish or crustacea, or slaughter by-products.

    some people use prefixes like ovo or lacto to designate if they eat eggs or dairy.

    It's been that way since 1847:

    http://www.vegsoc.org/info/whatis.html

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Ok, you are not ANY type of vegetarian if you consume meat, poultry, fish or seafood.

    A vegetarian is someone who does NOT consume meat, poultry, fish or seafood.

    If you do not consume meat, poultry, fish or seafood and you still consume eggs and dairy you would be considered a Lacto-ovo vegetarian. Someone with these eating habits is usually just simply called a "vegetarian."

    If you do not consume meat, poultry, fish, seafood, or eggs you would be called a Lacto vegetarian.

    If you don not consume meat, poultry, fish, seafood, or dairy you would be called a Ovo Vegetarian.

    If you do not consume meat, poultry, fish, seafood, eggs, dairy, or honey (some people dispute over honey) you would be called a Vegan.

    Some people also call people who do not consume meat or poultry but still DO consume fish and seafood Pescetarians. However, myself and most vegetarians would consider these people Omnivores, since they still consume flesh. Either you are a vegetarian or you are not.

    Hope this helps :)

  • 4 years ago

    Some toothpaste is suitable for vegetarians and some isn't. Colgate test on animals, so even though their toothpaste may/may not contain animal ingredients, I still wouldn't use them. I use a flouride-free toothpaste, it's an aloe vera one. I'm in the UK too, and you can get it in Holland and Barrett. They have loads more, they also have toothpaste which contains flouride if you still want that. H&B is a vegetarian's best friend.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    There are many different vegetarians. You are what you make yourself, so you could be a vegetarian that doesn't eat dairy products, but eats fish. Not just a vegetarian that eats fish or a vegetarian that doesn't eat dairy products.

    I'm a vegetarian that eats dairy products and products with eggs, but I don't eat any sort of meat and try to avoid leather and products tested on animals.

    It all depends on what you believe. Do you not like how fish are eaten? Don't eat fish.

    Good luck!

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Being a vegetarian isn't a religion, so everyone has to make up their own mind on what they want for their diet. I can see where a new veg would be very confused reading YA v/v section. I recomend you get a few books and read up on the topic.

  • 1 decade ago

    Definitions like "pollo", "pesco" and "flexi" are invalid because they pertain to eating animals.

    The idea of a "vegetarian who eats animals" simply doesn't make any sense. It's like a non-smoker who smokes or a non-drinker who drinks.

    I can tolerate it if someone says he is a "pescetarian." But if they say "it's a type of vegetarian" I find that annoying.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    whats the question? vegetarian means Eater of fruits and grains and nuts; someone who eats no meat or fish or (often) any animal products

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.