Anonymous
Anonymous asked in PetsFish · 1 decade ago

i am confused becuase of the pet store lady with my tank?

she told me to suck out 75% of my water in my 55gal tank weekly is this normal?? also i added four fish to my new tank two weeks after being cycled then tw days after them added two more different fish and all my tests or good except ammiona is a little high and says stress at 0.4, my fish seem good eating and swiming and all but should i be worried or do wanter chage? i want to add a couple more fish can i? the pet store lady said is donst matter how many fish you add as long as you test the water and do frequent water chages? als she said tanks cycle in a couple hours not weeks? i need some hellp here from some pros ia m confused?!

Update:

tw- 2 sorry about that typo

Update 2:

for the ammiona i added some cycle that helps with that

Update 3:

i think my test are good i am new at this so i dont really know!

Update 4:

i have afriacan chilchds the little mnubs and yellows and blood parrots and a black with spikes sucker thing that stays on the bottom the pet store lady said he eats snails and algea

11 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Cycling a tank takes 4-6 weeks. You received poor information. Also, you should perform partial water changes of 15-20% only. You may need to perform two partial changes of 15-20% as your tank cycles.

Please research "new tank syndrome".

Here are some links you'll find very useful:

Nitrogen cycle: http://faq.thekrib.com/begin-cycling.html

How to cycle a tank: http://www.firsttankguide.net/cycle.php

Basic Tank Care/Set-up: http://www.firsttankguide.net/

Rarely do pet shop employees have expertise in aquarium care. There job is to sell product. If you have a local mom/pop shop, you'll generally get better advise.

• Ianab
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago