promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Beauty & StyleHair · 1 decade ago

About dying my hair red?

I want to get the underside of my hair bright red... like not natural hair color red, but cherry, firetruck, apple, you-name-it RED. I am going to the salon tomorrow. I have a couple Q's though.

1. Do they have to bleach my hair before dying it.

2. How long before the color fades AND how to keep it from fading for longer.

3. IF they do have to bleach it, when the red fades will i be stuck with blonde/white hair mixed in with my brown, or will it just be pinkish?

Please answer all questions with something other than "I don't know"

If you don't know, please don't guess... I would like informed answers.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well, I think I can answer your questions the best. I have been dying my sister in laws hair (I am a hair stylist) for years, and she has a crazy, Ronald McDonald type of red! First of all, what will determine if your hair needs to be bleached or not depends on what color your hair is now. If it is virgin (never been chemically treated) hair and it is light blond, it probably won't have to be bleached. If it is any dark shade, yes, it will have to be bleached out before dying it red to achieve the best, most vibrant color. Ok, on to your second question...it is true, red always fades. You can do a few things at home to slow down the fading that will happen gradually. First of all, use a shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair. Secondly, there are a few gloss products available. There is a red one by John Freida that is pretty vibrant and would be great to use between salon services. When it does fade, it will turn into a lighter red eventually a pinkish shade. If you don't trust doing any coloring yourself at home (the glossing) you can have that done in the salon for a lesser price between major color processes. Let me know if you have any other questions!! Hope t