putting itb's on a d15 ..91 crx ..need help ..?

alright ..so i have recently fallen in love with itb setups ..i want to know where to start ..i know there are plenty of people out there with info ..so please ..give me detailed instructions etc.. ..would you be able to enclose the area around the itb to be able to still turbo it out ?? ..i am a noob to all this itb stuff ..so please dont hate ..currently on my car i just did a castrol syntec 10w-40 oil change ..new oil filter ..new ngk spark plugs ..new 10mm spark plug cables ..air intake ..i think the previous owner just put pipes back to a tip for the exhaust ..next week i will be putting headers on ..i just really want to be able to open up this motor and show some d-series love ..eventually there is a motor swap planned somewhere in the future ..i just want to learn how to work on the motor, etc. more before i get into all that ..so please ..let me know what to do ..i know i basically chop the original intake manifold and then the itb connects, but i dont know it all so details!!

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Well it isnt as simple as you make it seem, first you dont slap them on and woot HP.

You need fuel upgrade, fuel pump since its a 17yr old car, larger injectors, you need to place the map sensor and brake booster somewhere and must important tune!!!!

Still want to do it link below:

http://homemadeturbo.com/tech_projects/itb/index.h...

Look into OBD-0 ZC SOHC motor and trans ecu it net you 130 crank HP with a good intake header and exhaust 140-145 crank HP since the D15B2 isnt taht good, look at hmotorsonline.com for the motor

• 1 decade ago

If you're gonna do an ITB setup I'd wait till you swap in a B series (B18 or B20)... better engine to start with... you'll get more out of it.

As the above poster said there is a *lot* of work that goes into putting individual throttle bodies onto an engine; it's a really drastic mod, much like turbocharging.