coffeedog11 asked in SportsCycling · 1 decade ago

Cyclocross or road bike?

I am a beginner looking to get into biking but I don't know if I should get a road bike or a cyclocross. I was looking at the Trek 1500 (road) and the Trek XO-1 (cyclocross). The XO-1 is a bit more expensive than the 1500 but I heard a cyclocross is the best for less than optimal road conditions and I can take it for light offroading if I have to.

Any advice is appreciated again I havent been on a bike in years and now I'm in my mid 20's looking for a new sport and I'm looking into biking.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • M V
    Lv 6
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

I was in a similar situation earlier this year. The difference between us is that I have been avidly biking for many moons, but with a mountain bike. I eventually bought a separate set of wheels with 'skinny' tires for my hardtail. I kept my knobbies for real mountain biking, and used the skinnys for everything else. But as I rode more and more on pavement, I saw the need to get a 'big' wheel bike.

Road bikes looked too fragile to me. In addtion, I have some favorite routes that include about a half mile of gravel road and 4 miles of dirt path. A 'cross bike was the perfect kind of bike for me. I've put about a thou on mine this season and love it almost as much as my mountain bike.....

A 'cross bike also gives you more versatility. You can always put skinny road tires on it if you need/want to. I added a rear rack to mine and use it as an all-day 'touring' bike.

• 1 decade ago

Hi there.

I think if you want to have the option for a little off roading, cyclocross bikes are the way to go. If I had to (heaven forbid) choose one bike, it'd definitely be a 'cross bike. I often ride mtb trails on my cx bike, and do road rides with road racers on my cx bike - just changing the tires.