Anonymous
Anonymous asked in TravelUnited StatesSan Francisco · 1 decade ago

Where's a good winery to visit in Napa Valley, CA?

The boyfriend and I are planning a weekend trip to go from Los Angeles to Napa Valley. We want to check out the wineries, grapes, and all that good stuff. My boyfriend is a photographer, so the main purpose is to have him take pictures while I run around and look at grapes.

I'm kind of new to wineries in Napa Valley. I always drive by them...never stopped by to check them out. Also, we're actually not big wine drinkers because we don't really know how to pick out wine.

Any suggestions on which wineries are good? Which ones are visually appealing and photo-friendly? Where do we stay for the night? How much do these places usually cost? What about wine classes?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Best Answer

There are so many great wineries and fantastic views in Napa. It's difficult to just choose a few but here's an attempt:

1. Domaine Carneros

Open daily 10 AM – 6 PM

It's wonderful to sit outside on the patio sipping great sparkling wine and enjoying the spectacular scenery. This is one of the greatest views in the Valley and the sparkling wines here are equally wonderful.

2. Hess Collection

Open daily 10 AM – 4 PM

This winery has great wines in a wooded area. Art lovers should include visits to the Hess Modern Art Musuem on their Napa Valley Wine Tours. Admission is complimentary. The displays are interesting. Be sure to check out the flaming typewriter!

3. Clos Pegase Winery

Open daily 10:30 AM – 5 PM

This Calistoga winery has been described as “a temple to wine and art”. Stroll the grounds and enjoy the sculptures, sample fine wines in the tasting room, and picnic amidst the beauty of this winery. Clos Pegase has 20,000 square feet of caves including a Cave Theater, where events are often held. Tours are free and there’s no need for a reservation unless you are a large group.

4. Sterling Vineyards