Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Politics & GovernmentLaw Enforcement & Police · 1 decade ago

DEA, ATF, FBI,Police chain of command: how do i find out the names of the posts?

What i mean is , just like in Military you have Colonel who is higher-up than a major and so on..is there any site/resource that would let me know the hierarchy for those agencies??

I'm a young writer and I would like my work to at least sound authentic.

thank you very much for your answers.

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

About every department is different.... FBI, ATF and DEA are all special agents who are under a special agent in charge or supervising special agent all the way up to director with a couple of administrator functions in between.... As far as sheriffs, you have Sheriff, undersheriff, assistant sheriff, commander, captain, lieutenant, sergeant, corporal and deputy. You could have major instead of commander and/or colonial. Depends upon what military branch they replicate. For instance, in the Navy, a captain is the same as a colonial and a lieutenant is the same as a captain in Army, Marines or Air Force.

Police is the same way except you have a Chief, Deputy Chief, Assistant Chief and Bureau Chief, depending on the size of the department.

But again, like I said, all departments are different..... Then you have detectives, which are a branch within and of themselves for both sheriffs and police. A police dept is usually for a city and a sheriff's department is usually for a county.

Hope this helps some

• Anonymous
    5 years ago

This Site Might Help You.

RE:

DEA, ATF, FBI,Police chain of command: how do i find out the names of the posts?

What i mean is , just like in Military you have Colonel who is higher-up than a major and so on..is there any site/resource that would let me know the hierarchy for those agencies??

I'm a young writer and I would like my work to at least sound authentic.

thank you very much for your answers.