promotion image of download ymail app
Promoted
docjp
Lv 6
docjp asked in HealthMental Health · 1 decade ago

What spcifically is wrong with VA mental health that?

so many veterans are committing suicide?

Update:

Could incompetence or lack of proper training have anything to do with the problem....

Update 2:

Since all mental conflicts are within ones MIND, and not one in a thousand mental health professionals today know what the MIND is, could this be what's wrong?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I worked as a nurse through the 80s and quit in 93 to raise children,I can only speak about what I saw as issues of that time.

During that time the majority of men and women that were being treated in the VA facilities suffering from emotional illness were veitnam vets.

1.the first problem seemed to be a lack of understanding as to why so many returning vets were suffering from mental issues.

there was the tendancy to drug and ignore them.

2.the government as a whole had a policy of denying that exposure to certain chemicals could be the cause of mental illness .

so quite often these men and women were looked at as weak minded to begin with and their symptoms were often disregaurded.

after all they reasoned ,most older vets came home fine and

there was little support from the older generation of veterans who regaurded them as whiney babies who should just suck it up and get over it.

V.V.s came home to nation that had no understanding of what had happened and was still happening to them and didnt want to deal with their issues.

3.there was a lack of people.

trained to deal with such things as post traumatic stress,and the effects of drugs and other chemicals on the human body.

4.lack of facilities to find treatment