Anonymous

Is becoming a graphic designer a bad idea?

I was thinking of becoming a graphic designer but I just don't see it being in high demand.

Is it hard finding a job for a graphic designer?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If you live in/near a city, especially in NY or CA, graphic designers are in higher demand. You'll need at least a 4 yr. degree in art majoring in graphic design. If you live in a suburb/rural area, it's slim picking, about 80 designers compete in my area for each graphics job. I graduated 8 years ago with bachelor's degree in fine art, with a major in graphic design and a minor in drawing, but never held a satisfying graphics job, the market for designers died after 911 and after all the web start up companies folded. Don't expect to get to be creative in an entry-level position, it's mostly layout work with jobs at print shops and newspapers for min. wage up to $12/hr. If you are lucky, you can work at an advertising agency that focuses on giving customers creative solutions for websites, letterheads, etc. Another good job would to be to work at a magazine. Personally, if I could do it again I would have majored in photography or computer programming. You can be creative by taking landscapes and do weddings to pay the bills, also, layout isn't that difficult, just get and learn Photoshop to make digital albums of the photos you took. I know computer programming is hot right now, and has been for the last 8 years, and my husband had no problem getting a job that is well paying. After you land a good job, then you can freelance on the weekend at sologig.com to be creative. Hope your future is extremely bright and I wish you all the best.

Source(s): Life experience
    • Login to reply the answers
  • Anonymous
    4 years ago