Phantom asked in SportsMartial Arts · 1 decade ago

knife fighting vs. sword fighting?

I was wondering between the two which one is more practical and effecient in a real combat situation. Would the sword win since you would have more distance or the knife since it is very light and fast?

Update:

well, we will assume that both fighters have the same skill level...

Update 2:

Thanks guys, can you please explain whitch weapon is better all around in any combat situation.

14 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

Sword, no question.

I take it from your question that you don't have much experience with either. Understandable, seeing as we don't live in feudal times lol!

Well, I'm a kendo student; and can attest that the reach and larger cutting area of a sword makes the knife all but useless against it. Some morons will probably try to say that the knife can be thrown at a sword-wielding opponent; but in the real world knives are not very effective when thrown. Aside from that, ask any K-Bar trained marine: There's no way in hell they're going to throw their only melee weapon at you if you have a sword to reciprocate with.

Being light and fast doesn't help much if you can't get in close enough to do the damage needed to stop an opponent. We'll put this silly question to rest by making up a new proverb:

"Never bring a knife to a swordfight."

Source(s): Kendo, USMC
  • 1 decade ago

Will Vicious and Hugh Jass pretty much said it.

You can have an amazing knife fighter vs a mediocre sword fighting and the swordfighter would win. The reach advantage is far too great, and cannot be overcome with speed and maneuverability in this instance. It's similar to how a mediocre marksman would kill a master swordsman at 15 feet. There are no 'ifs' or 'buts' about it.