Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Latin 1. help me =[?

I'm in latin 1.

and i hate it!

but i cannot drop out..i have to take three years of it!

i have a C..i really need to get my grade up.

i can't memorize it.

i really need some tips.

anyone ever take a latin course?

helpful hints?

- - lexx =]

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I studied Latin for 2 ½ years in high school. The best way to learn Latin is to simply try to memorize the grammatical rules declensions, verb forms, tenses, voices, etc. But don't just try to memorize them, write them down as you study, and work with the words as you decline nouns, conjugate verbs, or learn new voices, etc. Do it over and over again if necessary to impress them on your mind. This method is called "inculcation," which is, coincidentally, a word derived from the Latin infinitive "inculcare," which means "to instill or force upon." See, we've already found a good use for Latin. Anyway, I found inculcation to be the most effective method for learning Latin, especially when studying for vocabulary quizzes. Writing the words down over and over again, including their definitions, the declensions for nouns, and the present, past, and perfect participial forms and infinitive forms for verbs especially helps to impress them on the mind. Another thing which really helps is to try to translate as much as possible. The more, the better, because it forces the brain to actively think in the language you are trying to learn. I found this especially effective several years later when I took a German course in college. In the course of one year we were forced to read several small books about different German historical character