Name the five members of the U.N. Security Council that have veto power??

five answers required...thanks!

my guess:China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, the United States....


5 Answers

  • bwlobo
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Article 27 of the United Nations Charter states:

    1) Each member of the Security Council shall have one vote.

    2) Decisions of the Security Council on procedural matters shall be made by an affirmative vote of nine members.

    3) Decisions of the Security Council on all other matters shall be made by an affirmative vote of nine members including the concurring votes of the permanent members; provided that, in decisions under Chapter VI, and under paragraph 3 of Article 52, a party to a dispute shall abstain from voting.

    Although the 'power of veto' is not explicitly mentioned in the UN Charter, the fact that 'substantive' decisions by the UNSC require "the concurring votes of the permanent members", means that any of those permanent members can prevent the adoption, by the Council, of any draft resolutions on 'substantive' matters. For this reason, the 'power of veto' is also referred to as the principle of 'great Power unanimity'.

    The permanent members are:

    Russia, United States, China, France & the United Kingdom

  • Anonymous
    4 years ago

    I merely had to reply to "mrlinuxguy " and permit him recognize that a UN risk-free practices Veto can't be overridden. The 5 everlasting individuals of the risk-free practices Council can veto a decision (France, uk, Russia, u . s . a ., and China). the relax 10 individuals of the SC have balloting rights, yet not veto rights.

  • James
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    Yep, the first five members of the nuclear club - and the victors of WWII.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Your guess is right.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    Your are correct!!!!!

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.