What type of jurisdiction does the U.S. District Court have?

4 Answers

  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    he United States district courts are the trial courts of the federal court system. Within limits set by Congress and the Constitution, the district courts have jurisdiction to hear nearly all categories of federal cases, including both civil and criminal matters. Every day hundreds of people across the nation are selected for jury duty and help decide some of these cases.

    There are 94 federal judicial districts, including at least one district in each state, the District of Columbia and Puerto Rico. Three territories of the United States -- the Virgin Islands, Guam, and the Northern Mariana Islands -- have district courts that hear federal cases, including bankruptcy cases. (Printable Circuit/District map - pdf)

    Bankruptcy courts are separate units of the district courts. Federal courts have exclusive jurisdiction over bankruptcy cases. This means that a bankruptcy case cannot be filed in a state court.

    There are two special trial courts that have nationwide jurisdiction over certain types of cases.

    1. The Court of International Trade addresses cases involving international trade and customs issues.

    2. The United States Court of Federal Claims has jurisdiction over most claims for money damages against the United States, disputes over federal contracts, unlawful "takings" of private property by the federal government, and a variety of other claims against the United States.

  • 5 years ago


    Source(s): Court Records Search Database : http://courtrecords.oruty.com/?hiX
  • 1 decade ago

    original jurisdiction- the right to hear a case for the first time as opposed to appellate jurisdiction when a court has the right to review the decision of a previous, lower-level court.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    I can tell you the federal level, federal has 11 Districts

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.