Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Entertainment & MusicMusicRock and Pop · 1 decade ago

Why are older POPULAR rock bands more acceptable than NEWER ... ?

..Popular rock bands.

I've never understood this.

Beatles were an immmmensely popular band with screaming girl fans.. They are accepted as music that is good.

MCR is also a modern day popular band with crazy fans.. But they are not acceptable (mostly on RnP)

Some people say that Beatles were actually talented in writing music.. MCR not.

But people don't understand that its not SIMPLE writing catchy songs. As a musician myself i respect all bands that come up with music.. It's not as easy as it seems to come out with simple catchy music.. MCR's music isnt simple anyhoo. Good solos and chord progression.

So what other reasons are there for OLDER popular bands are more acceptable?

And could you explain?

Update:

Sarah - i meant dead popular.. The most popular around

Update 2:

Sarah - i meant dead popular.. The most popular around

Update 3:

Popular BANDS nowadays ALSO influence a new generation.. So tahts banned :)

Update 4:

The Beatles were considered Hearththrobs in their days...

Update 5:

The Beatles were considered Hearththrobs in their days...

24 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I think sheer numbers might have something to do with it. The Beatles came out when the Baby Boomers were coming of age, but when there were relatively fewer really good bands out there. More people + less bands = more popularity per band than less people + more bands.

Edit: Add into that the unifying force of a common experience. Today, news of new talent has many different modes of travel - YouTube, Rolling Stone mag, countless radio stations, forums like this. Back then, everybody saw The Beatles on that Sunday evening on the Ed Sullivan show - all across the nation at the same time. One tsunami vs. lots of little wavelets.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago