tap dancing?

i am about 16 and im interested in tap dancing,

but i have no knowledge about it and i have never done it before.

does someone know a good tap dancing school that i can start out with?

can someone tell me anything/everything about it?

do you think im too old to start learning tap dancing?

any advice would be nice.

i would rather you put down information rather than websites.

thank you very much!

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I absolutely agree, you're never too old to start dancing!

Tap is awesome fun I totally think you should give it a go. I'm only 13 but I've been doing tap for nearly 8 years. I recommend just asking people if they know of any good dancing schools. That's how I found my dancing school :)

Anyways although tap may look heaps hard, once you get the hang of what you're doing it's pretty easy and layed back.

I personally think that to be great at tap you need to have a great style. If you're dancing with out style it just ruins the entire dance and makes it super boring.

Also, you need to relax your ankles if you want to get a great sound. Since you're a beginner, I suggest practicing just simple warm ups like shuffles and toe-heels, etc, at home.

Hope this has helped slightly!

Goodluck!

• Login to reply the answers
  • I do not live in America, so i can't really reccomend any dance schools round your area lol. I do tap and startted when i was abou 11. At first, I was in the same situation as you. I didn't know a thing about tap. I had never even been interested in dance in my life before. However i joined my friend's dance school, and it is where I still am 2 years later!