Can a bank request I close my credit card when applying for a loan?

I recently applied for a $50k personal loan through Bank of America, aka FIA Services N...(blah-blah). Anyway, during the initial phone application I was told I was approved and the loan would be deposited in 7-10 days. I thought great! A week went by and I got a letter in the mail. Some crap about they needed to verify my mailing address based on information contained in my credit report. I was like, what? So I called them to see if I could just scan and e-mail it instead. After the 3rd phone call, the guy said to please hold while he reviewed my account. 3-5 min later, he comes back and finally says I'm approved for the loan, but he will need to close my Mastercard. I have a BoA (FIA) Mastercard w/ $50k limit, open since 1998. They didn't want to have $100k of exposure or some line of crap. I asked if I was approved, he said yes, but I had to close the MC. He said I could leave it open, but have a $2k limit. Cancelled my app, not denied. No thanks.

Can They Do This?

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

If Bank of America is the one funding your credit card and loan, they can certainly do it. Basically, they are saying you can keep your line of credit, or you can have the cash now in the form of a loan.

• tores
    Lv 4
    4 years ago