Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Arts & HumanitiesBooks & Authors · 1 decade ago

Is it okay to switch between 1st and 3rd person narratives?

I'm actually a really crappy writer i've realized. Everything I write, no matter how inspired how whatever I feel, just doesn't LOOK right and doesn't capture the emotion or whatever i see in my head...

but my question is, can you swtich between narratives?

In my story i sort of want to get the perspective of the male protagonist but it's a 1st person story told by a female character. Would it be okay to break in the middle of the chapter and talk 3rd person about the guy character for a little bit? It would only be like a paragraph to let the reader see something that the usual narrator doesn't see...

Can you pull that off successfully or is that a definite no?

11 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Yes and no. Yes because it can be done. As long as it's done properly.

No because it gets the reader really confused (especially if you want them to get into the character's head).

It's better to write a chapter in 1st person, then switch to 3rd person in the next chapter. Just so people know what's going on the whole way.

At first, I was a terrible writer. I look back at the work I've done a few years ago, and it was TERRIBLE. You always think it's good at the time....then you look back on it a few years from then. Just keep writing. Eventually, you'll stop having so many of those "realizations". Writing takes practice, confidence, and experience. I suggest reading a lot of different styles of books, just to see how different authors write. Then, you can either use many different styles, or come up with your own. Just keep writing and you'll find what you're looking for! Good luck!

Source(s): Experience, Practice, I read a lot.
  • 1 decade ago

Well, I wouldn't switch in the middle of a chapter, but alot of authors switch between narratives by chapters example:

chapter1: 1st

chap2: 3rd