CanI just add"Esquire " after my full name because it sounds cool?

I was wondering if I could start introducing myself as Joseph J Josephson Esquire ?? i live in NH and tried reading the laws but cant quite decipher what it says. I think it says I can as long as i'm not trying to fool anyone. But what if people think that I'm a lawyer just from the title? Is is a real title anyway? Thanks

13 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

I did it.

Do a lot of lawyers really do it? I know it's kinda for them, but I didn't think that many really do it. Sh!t, I kinda wanna be a lawyer now.

• Jimmy
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

You can, but I think it's kind of a useless gesture. I'm a lawyer, I see very few lawyers use "Esq." after their names.

There MAY be a problem if you lead anyone to believe that you are a lawyer or have legal training. For me, it wouldn't be worth the risk of getting sued for malpractice by people who interpret your comments to be legal advice.

Oh yes, you can be sued for legal malpractive EVEN IF you are not a lawyer in many states.

• 1 decade ago

I'm pretty sure in the Constitution there is something about how there are to be "no titles of nobility" or something to that effect. "Esquire" falls under "nobility", so, you would in fact, be infringing on the Constitution and could be tried in a federal court.

• Anonymous
    1 decade ago

equire in theus refers to someone who practices law but typicaly is used if your one of the following

The eldest sons of knights and their eldest sons, in perpetual succession

The eldest sons of younger sons of peers and their eldest sons, in perpetual succession (children of peers already had a specific precedence higher in the table)

Those who bear special office in the Royal Household

Sheriffs while in office

Justices of the Peace while in commission

Commissioners of the Court of Bankruptcy

Masters of the Supreme Court

Deputy Lieutenants and Commissioners of Lieutenancy

Queen's Counsel