Can female guitarists answer these questions for me please? (email me your answers)?

I am in my final year of media studies and for my final year dissertation I am researching the subject of “women and the electric guitar”.

I would be very grateful if you could allow 5 minutes of your time to answer the following questions:

1. How did you become a guitar player? When? Why?

2. Were you influenced by any guitarists, or female guitarists, in particular? What are your musical tastes?

3. How did you learn the guitar, acquire your skills?

4. Explain your experiences as a female guitar player. (Eg. Finding a band, concerts, stereotypes, going into guitar shops…)

5. Do you ever feel discriminated as a female guitarist? What are the advantages and obstacles of being a female performer?

6. Do you think female instrumentalists are still marginalized in comparison to male performers?

Thank you for your time,

Sylvie Francis

sylvie_francis1@hotmail.com

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I'll email you my answers in few minutes, but you'd get way more answers if you asked in Rock and Pop. ^_^

Edit: Answers! Woo!

1. How did you become a guitar player? When? Why?

I started playing in 2003. (I was 13) I loved writing lyrics and thought I should take up an instrument so I could write proper songs.

2. Were you influenced by any guitarists, or female guitarists, in particular? What are your musical tastes?

Until a few years ago the only female guitarists I was really aware of were Charlotte Hatherley from Ash and PJ Harvey.

I was influenced by Charlotte and the other guitar player in Ash, Tim Wheeler quite a bit but I was influenced a lot more by Carl Barat and Pete Doherty from The Libertines. I really like Nick McCarthy and Alex Kapranos from Franz Ferdinand as well.

My musical tastes are pretty varied. I can't really pin it down to one time or genre.

Here's my list from myspace if you're interested: