What happens if you are caught driving without your license?

Follow
  • Follow publicly
  • Follow privately
  • Unfollow
I have a valid driver's license, but I left it at school and I am only home for the weekend. I have never gotten pulled over before and I don't speed, so I don't expect to ...show more
Best AnswerAsker's Choice
I dont know what planet the other people who answered are on. There is a law that requires you to carry a drivers license with you. As such you can get a ticket for not having it. Most officer will let you slide if you have a valid license, but its not with you. In my state, at least, anything is arrestable, but the only way youd end up on jail is if you dont sign the citation. Most states its a small fine, and some its even correctable (ie you just have to show it at court or a police station and pay a small court processing fee).

Source:

Im a police officer

Asker's rating & comment

5 out of 5
thanks. in the future i'll try not to forget it
  • Rate
  • Comment

Other Answers (7)

Rated Highest
  • Rated Highest
  • Oldest
  • Newest
  • Dave answered 4 months ago
    I don't know what state you are talking about but in GA your vehicle will be towed and you will be taken to a local police station to be picked up by someone if you have a CDL and the ticket will not be cheep. My towing bill was $225 ticket $550 and vehicle storage $320 so have the thing with you. They also did $1800 damage to my Harley and let it sit in the weather for two weeks. Don't do it in GA!
    • Rate
    • Comment
  • gomanyes562 answered 6 years ago
    It would help if you memorize your driver's license number. It really depends on the cop. Some will let you go and some will give you a ticket. If you get a ticket, you can just take your license to court and show it to the judge and he should cancel the ticket, but this is a bit of a hassle.
    • Rate
    • Comment
  • carriec answered 6 years ago