Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Computers & InternetProgramming & Design · 1 decade ago

Programming Games?

I'm looking into going into some kind of engineering in college. Recently however I started learning how to program as a senior project in High School. Through creating a game I've gained some interest in maybe leading down that path some time later in life, maybe not at all. Anyways my question is if I were to go and get a degree in Electrical/Computer Engineering would that completely steer me from the chances of programming games as a career.

If so then what is the actual degree you need to go into game programming?

Note: I know the school I wish to go to offers programming game courses...

3 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Computer Science is clearly the way to go. It is a difficult discipline, but it has significant advantages if you want to be a game developer.

Most game development is about

o getting the most performance out of the computer

o doing something new and original

o working with reams of data

Nothing prepares you for this like a rigorous computer science program. If you have game programming classes, all the better, but they aren't critical. The far more important thing is for you to understand truly how computers work, and how to build complex algorithms and data structures. When you can do that, you can apply it to any type of programming.

You can get into a program that promises "game design" or "game graphics." These programs look attractive because they don't require as much math and programming. They also don't typically lead to real jobs in the gaming industry.

Learn to program well, learn how computers really work, and write some great games along the way, and you'll be able to do game programming. With a solid foundation in computer science, you'll be able to pick up the other skills as you go.