Explaning to a teacher my home situation (COA)...?

To basically sum it all up, I'm a child of a substance abuser/codependent, my parents are finishing up a long awaited divorce, etc. etc. and lately I have been falling back in my classes. My teacher wanted to talk to me to see what was going on but I'm not sure how to explain to him my situation without 1. crying/getting emotional or 2. having a report made to social services (as I've dealt with them in the past). I don't want my situation to seem like an excuse and/or I don't to be pittyed for it...any suggestions??

9 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

I would explain it to your teacher, exactly like you just did in your question. It always makes me feel better when I get things off my chest, and it may work for you. best of luck to you and your family.

• Login to reply the answers
  • 1 decade ago

I am a former teacher. Talk to your teacher. If there is nothing going on that requires Social Services to be involved, then he will not call them. You can also just tell him that the divorce is happening and things are getting to you right now. The problem you have with classwork is that if you fall behind on today's work, then tomorrow you have two days work to absorb and it just goes on and on until it's next to impossible to catch up. Accept any help that will assist you in catching up with your classmates. Oh and teachers have seen students cry before. I hope that this divorce makes life a bit easier for you. Sometimes it is the best answer. I can't tell if one of your parents has it together and the other not or if both have problems. If it is only one I hope you are with the one that is sober, if not ask to move to that parent. No matter what you think you cannot help a person sober up, whether the problem is alcohol or drugs, unless they want to sober up. Do not take this responsibility on your shoulders.

• 1 decade ago