Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Will the issue of race be a negative topic of change that will impact Obama's run for President?

As an Independent and Veteran I love my country, but I know that it is not perfect, as Obama has said himself. However, it saddens me to hear the most recent developments about the relationships that Mr. Obama chooses have that are so filled with rage toward America and those that are not black. I understand that it is the black experience and as a white man I'm not supposed to understand, but how can we move past it without an open dialogue to learn from each other to experience the "change" that Obama speaks about. Obama’s recent speech he said, "…the anger is real; it is powerful; and to simply wish it away, to condemn it without understanding its roots, only serves to widen the chasm of misunderstanding that exists between the races." So when I hear Reverend Wright speak in such hateful terms in plain English, I question who is actually widening that chasm he speaks about? Was it really one isolated sermon that Obama did not attend in the two decades that he has been a member of the church and how can he not be influenced? I too come from a tough background growing up in a poor neighborhood to a mother on welfare and an abusive alcoholic stepfather, and last time I checked, race played no part in my circumstances as a child. So help me understand the black experience because it sure plays a big role in this election when Obama makes speeches regarding race. I agree that we need change in Washington but it cannot just be a top down movement. It must be a social movement of dialogue and action that begins in the