Miss Olivia asked in Beauty & StyleHair · 1 decade ago

Dying my hair red?

I naturally have dark brown hair (it's almost black), and I think I'd like to be a redhead!

I don't want a carrot-top red, I'm thinking more like Isla Fisher or Amy Adams:

http://images.askmen.com/galleries/model/isla-fish...

http://d.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/fwd/20070731/capt....

Or maybe a darker red, like Julianne Moore:

http://www.thelocalking.com/temp/savg03.jpg

So, how do I go about this? Is it even possible? What shade do I need to choose and what (in your opinion) is the best brand of home haircolor? Basically any advice about dying my brown hair to red at home ;)

*Please don't tell me to go to a salon, as I have been dying my own hair for over five years - it is very healthy and I think I've got the routine down ;)

Thanks!

15 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

The first picture is a darker strawberry blond. The second picture is the color of my daughters hair and I would say that her hair is a medium red. The third picture is more of an auburn red. I think the one that would work the best for you would be the 3rd one. Since your hair is already pretty dark, trying to go lighter would be difficult. But because your hair is dark, you will have to pick a shade of red that is pretty intense to make it show up. Loreal makes some great home color hair color kits. Go to the Loreal web site, they have a great interactive hair coloring section on the site that really helps you choose a good color for your hair that will look natural. I was fooling around with it and it was fun and very informative. Have fun and enjoy your new hair color.

• nettie
    Lv 4
    4 years ago