Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Society & CultureCultures & GroupsSenior Citizens · 1 decade ago

Seniors, what year did you graduate from high school? What was your life like then? What was going on in ..?

...the world that made an impression on you? Any special memories of music from that time? What are some movies you remember seeing with your friends at the cinema?

22 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Best Answer

1969- Is the year I graduated from my mother's womb. but I post this to jog your memories!

In that year, 1969: (some are pretty interesting!)

**After 147 years, the last issue of The Saturday Evening Post is published.

**The first message was sent over ARPANET, the forerunner of the internet.

**An album considered by many to be one of the first in the heavy metal genre is released-Led Zeppelin I

**The Woodstock Festival is held in upstate New York, featuring some of the top rock musicians of the era.

**Dr. Denton Cooley implants the first temporary artificial heart.

**Wal-Mart incorporates as Wal-Mart Stores, Inc

**The Boeing 747 makes its maiden flight.

**The Beatles give their last public performance, on the roof of Apple Records.

**The U.S. Supreme Court rules that the First Amendment applies to public schools.

**Lyndon Baines Johnson leaves office as Richard Milhous Nixon is sworn in as the 37th President of the United States of America.

**The first draft lottery in the United States is held since World War II .

**The first automatic teller machine in the United States is installed in Rockville Centre, New York.

**Former United States General and President, Dwight D. Eisenhower dies after a long illness in the Walter Reed Army Medical Center, Washington, D.C..

**Sirhan Sirhan admits that he killed presidential candidate Robert F. Kennedy.

**James Earl Ray pleads guilty to assassinating Martin Luther King Jr. (he later retracts his guilty plea).