What is the legal working age in Baltimore, MD?

1 Answer

Relevance
  • wizjp
    Lv 7
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Age:

    A minor under the age of 14 may not be employed or permitted to work unless the child is a model, performer or entertainer with a special permit. Special permits are issued only by the Commissioner's Office. Information can be obtained by calling (410) 767-2239.

    Minors 14 through 17 years of age may only work with a work permit.

    Certain activities are not considered employment for the purposes of this law provided the activity does not involve mining, manufacturing or hazardous occupations and it takes place outside the school day. Those activities include: farm work performed on a farm; domestic work performed in or about a home; work performed in a business owned or operated by a parent; work performed by unpaid volunteers, in a charitable or non-profit organization, employed with the written consent of the parent; caddying on a golf course; an instructor on an instructional sailboat; delivery of newspapers; work performed as a counselor, assistant counselor or instructor in a youth camp certified under the Maryland Youth Camp Act; and hazardous work performed by unpaid volunteers of a volunteer fire department who have completed or are taking a course of study relating to fire fighting or rescue and who are 16 years of age or older.

    Hours:

    Minors 14 and 15 years of age may not be employed or permitted to:

    work more than 4 hours on any day when school is in session

    work more than 8 hours a day on any day when school is not in session

    work more than 23 hours in any week when school is in session

    work more than 40 hours in any week when school is not in session

    work before 7:00 a.m. or after 8:00 p.m. Minors may work until 9:00 p.m. from Memorial Day to Labor Day.

    work more than 5 consecutive hours without a non-working period of at least 30 minutes.

    Hours of work for minors employed by an employer covered by the Federal Fair Labor Standards Act are more restrictive than those allowed by Maryland law. In general, it is the more protective standards which apply.

    Minors 16 and 17 years of age:

    May spend no more than 12 hours in a combination of school hours and work hours each day.

    Must be allowed at least 8 consecutive hours of non-work, non-school time in each 24 hour period.

    May not be permitted to work more than 5 consecutive hours without a non-working period of at least 30 minutes.

    Occupations:

    Certain occupations are declared to be hazardous by the U.S. Secretary of Labor and have been adopted by the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The Commissioner has forbidden employment by minors under 18 in other occupations. Additional areas of employment are restricted to minors under the age of 16. Information on all of these areas of restricted employment is available from Issuing Officers in Maryland's secondary schools or from the Division of Labor and Industry. The Employment of Minors Fact Sheet can be obtained by calling (410) 767-2239.

    Work Permits:

    Work permits are required for all minors under the age of 18 to work in the State of Maryland.

    Work permits are not issued to minors under the age of 14.

    Work permits are issued by Issuing Officers in Maryland secondary schools, by some government sponsored summer jobs programs, by the Ocean City Police Department and by the Division of Labor and Industry. Minors and their parents are encouraged to contact their local school to obtain a work permit.

    To obtain a Work Permit: Work permits are not issued until the minor has been offered a job. The work permit allows the minor to perform certain duties for a particular employer. If the minor changes jobs, a new work permit must be obtained. The work permit form is obtained from the school, the minor completes some basic information and signs the permit. The minor's parent or guardian signs the permit. The work permit is taken to the employer who enters their name and address and describes the minor's duties. The employer signs the permit. The work permit is then taken to the Issuing Officer. Issuing Officers are required to verify the minor's date of birth. If the minor's date of birth is not on school records, then the minor must present proof of age. Acceptable documents include a birth certificate, motor vehicle identification, passport, baptismal certificate or other government document that verifies the date of birth. The validated work permit, with the Issuing Officer's signature must be in the employer's possession before the minor is permitted to work.

    References:

    Labor and Employment Article, Title 3, Subtitle 2, Annotated Code of Maryland

    Publications available:

    Employment of Minors Law

    Employment of Minors Fact Sheet

    For additional information, contact:

    Division of Labor and Industry

    1100 N. Eutaw St. - Room 606

    Baltimore, MD 21201

    (410) 767-2239

    FAX: (410) 333-7303

    E-Mail Address: ess@dllr.state.md.us

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.