Anonymous

I need job help, please?

I live in Pittsburgh Pennsylvania. Currently I am 20 years old working as a security officer. I can't stand this job. Also it's very unstable. During the summer, all of the workers are laid-off. We'll, I was talking to a couple of temp agencies and they said they cannot help me since I am already employed. They felt it may jeopardize my current job. I would like to in a library but the only available positions are librarians and they require a degree. I'm planing on going to college soon as well. What do I do? I'm not good with working with customers due to my Social Anxiety disorder. Can anybody help me?

Update:

I don't want to be a librarian, I would like to work in a library because it is quiet.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

Job searching can definitely be a pain. Here are the best sites I have found on the web in my constant digging for employment. I hope it helps.

Monster- This is a well organized site because it allows you to select multiple jobs and locations at one time, avoiding the hassle of remembering what you have and haven't searched through, but it's sometimes slow and if you explore other sites it becomes apparent that their selection is lacking.

Indeed- I have a love hate relationship with Indeed. At this site you type in any word of interest, or ones that you feel will link you to a job that you would enjoy, and the location you wish to work at. Indeed often digs up intriguing jobs other sites miss, but it also redisplays the same job seven zillion times because it is pulling things from all across the web.

CareerBuilder- Here, even when you go to it's advanced stage you can only choose one job at a time, so if you are interested in multiple categories- like nursing and non profit or journalism and advertising you are forced to do them separately, often showing you jobs repeatedly.