Any tips on "Networking"?

I have an event tomorrow night, lots of people from my industry. I am nervous. How do I approach, what do I talk about. Btw, I am still a student.

3 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

1. Understand your goal. I think it is pretty clear in your case: build up your network.

2. Use the time wisely before the event. Do you know any people around you who will go the the event? If so, uou can tag along with them and possibly they can introduce you to a couple people.

3. Arrive early to get 1 on 1 time. It is tough to break in a circle of people who already knows each other or there are a lot of people. Therefore the best time to meet people is when there is not too much competition. Approach someone who is milling around or waiting something to happen.

4. Prepare yourself an introduction of 30 or 60 seconds. Say that you're a student. Unless you have impressive background to talk about, I suggest you to ask good question and stop and listen. The mark of a good conversationalist is not that you can talk a lot - it is you can invite others to talk a lot. Ask softball questions like, “What do you do?” “Where are you from?” “What brings you to this event?” Then listen. Ironically, you'll be remembered as an interesting person.

5. Break into circles of people. As mentioned, this is diffuclt thus it would be the best to target small and easy group. Another tips is don't feel bad to jump out if you find yourself unable to catch up with the topic and you feel uninterested.

6. Unveil your passions. Although you may want to demostrate that how suitable you are for the industry.. blah blah blas, it is boring to talk only about business. During networking, your passions make you an interesting person--you'll stick out because you're the only person not talking about the technical jargons at the industry event. Personally, my passions are digital photography, design and hockey...